Check Out My New Sample!

This past weekend was a big one. The People’s Climate March was on Saturday, and, following shortly after, the Rise Up rally for immigrants’ and workers’ rights took place in NYC on May Day.

In the spirit of protest, I released a sample of a new song I’m working on. When I first wrote this song, it was an attempt at getting myself out of writer’s block with completely different lyrics, except for “If I had a penny for every time…” I wasn’t happy with it, but I liked some of the rhythm and melody. So, I set it aside and thought I might come back to it at another time. After the presidential election, I changed the words, and it suddenly came together…in a much more powerful way than before!

Photos in the sample video are from various marches I went to, including the Women’s March. Enjoy – and check back soon. I’m hoping to release the full version in a few weeks!

“If I Had a Penny” (sample), written/performed Melissa Walters
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OF9U_pfHVK0

